Skip to main content

Seminar «Supercomputer simulation of the climate system»

Seminar Leader: Sadovnichy V.A., academician, rector of Lomonosov Moscow State University

Co-leaders of the seminar:

  • Wilfand R.M., Doctor of Technical Sciences, Scientific Director of the Hydrometeorological Center of Russia
  • Dobrolyubov S.A., Corr. RAS, Dean of the Faculty of Geography, Lomonosov Moscow State University
  • Lykosov V.N., Corr. RAS, chief scientist Institute of Computational Mathematics, Russian Academy of Sciences, Head. Laboratory of Supercomputer Modeling of Natural and Climatic Processes of RCC MSU
  • Stepanenko V.M., Doctor of Physics and Mathematics, Deputy Director of RCC MSU

Scientific Secretary of the seminar: Mortikov E.V., Ph.D., Researcher of RCC MSU

 

 

PROGRAM

Ibraev R.A. Marchuk Institute of Numerical Mathematics of RAS
Shirshov Institute of Oceanology RAS
Ushakov K.V. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology RAS
Kaurkin M.N. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology RAS

ON WORKS TO CREATE A COMPUTER SYSTEM OF THE OPERATIONAL OCEANOLOGY OF THE GLOBAL OCEAN

The report presents the results of studies on the creation of a computer System for Operational Oceanology (SOO) of the global ocean. SOO consists of a joint ocean dynamics model INMIO and sea ice model CICE, a parallel ensemble optimal interpolation algorithm (DAS-EnOI). The whole system is running a compact computing platform for CMF modeling. The features and main characteristics of the components of the INMIO system - CICE, DAS-EnOI, CMF are considered. An example of the work of the World Ocean 1/10 x 1/10 x 49 INMIO model and its verification is given.

Using DAS-EnOI, the results of an ocean prediction study with assimilation of temperature and salinity profiles (ARGO) and ocean level anomaly (AVISO) in the North Atlantic model, which is part of the 1/10 x 1/10 x 49 World Ocean model, are considered.

Preliminary results of a global SOO model with a spatial resolution of 0.25 degrees created on the basis of the Marine Hydrophysical Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Sevastopol) are presented. A multivariate data vector, consisting of ARGO profiles for temperature and salinity, satellite observations of ocean level and sea ice cohesion, is assimilated in the SOO layout. As part of this system, a fundamentally new technology for strong coupled data assimilation has been developed in two models - IWMIO (ocean) and CICE (sea ice), operating in parallel under the control of CMF3.0.

More details about working at www.model.ocean.ru.

The work was funded by the Russian Science Foundation, grant No. 17-77-30001.

Перейти к основному содержанию

Семинар «Суперкомпьютерное моделирование климатической системы»

Руководитель семинара: В.А. Садовничий, академик, ректор Московского государственного университета имени М.В. Ломоносова.

Соруководители семинара:

  • Вильфанд Р.М., д.т.н., научный руководитель Гидрометцентра России
  • Добролюбов С.А., чл.-корр. РАН, декан Географического факультета МГУ
  • Лыкосов В.Н., чл.-корр. РАН, гл.н.с. Института вычислительной математики РАН, зав. лабораторией суперкомпьютерного моделирования природно-климатических процессов НИВЦ МГУ
  • Степаненко В.М., д.ф.-м.н., зам. директора НИВЦ МГУ

Ученый секретарь семинара: Мортиков Е.В., к.ф.-м.н., н.с. НИВЦ МГУ

 

 

 

ПРОГРАММА СЕМИНАРА

Ибраев Р.А. Институт вычислительной математики им. Г.И. Марчука РАН
Институт океанологии им. П.П. Ширшова РАН
Ушаков К.В. Институт океанологии им. П.П. Ширшова РАН
Кауркин М.Н. Институт океанологии им. П.П. Ширшова РАН

О РАБОТАХ ПО СОЗДАНИЮ КОМПЬЮТЕРНОЙ СИСТЕМЫ ОПЕРАТИВНОЙ ОКЕАНОЛОГИИ ГЛОБАЛЬНОГО ОКЕАНА

В докладе представлены результаты исследований по созданию компьютерной Системы Оперативной Океанологии (СОО) глобального океана. СОО состоит из совместной модели динамики океана INMIO и модели морского льда CICE, параллельного алгоритма ансамблевой оптимальной интерполяции (DAS-EnOI). Вся система работает под управлением компактной вычислительной платформы для моделирования CMF. Рассматриваются особенности и основные характеристики составляющих системы INMIO - CICE, DAS-EnOI, CMF. Приводится пример работы модели Мирового океана 1/10 х 1/10 х 49 INMIO, ее верификации.

С применением DAS-EnOI рассматриваются результаты исследования по прогнозу состояния океана с усвоением профилей температуры и солености (ARGO) и аномалия уровня океана (AVISO) в модели Северной Атлантики, которая является частью модели Мирового океана 1/10 х 1/10 х 49.

Представляются предварительные результаты макета глобальной СОО с пространственным разрешением 0,25 градуса, созданного на базе Морского гидрофизического института РАН (г. Севастополь). В макете СОО усваивается мультивариантный вектор данных, состоящий из профилей ARGO для температуры и солёности, спутниковых наблюдений уровня океана и сплоченности морского льда. В рамках этой системы разработана принципиально новая технология совместного усвоения данных (strong coupled data assimilation) в двух моделях – ИВМИО (океан) и CICE (морской лед), работающих параллельно под управлением CMF3.0.

Более подробно о работе на www.model.ocean.ru.

Работа финансировалась РНФ, грант №17-77-30001.